Now in its twenty-first year, the Prize will be awarded once more to the author(s) of an original work, first published during 2017, written in (or translated into) English on a subject relating to or inspired by Greece or Greek exploits, culture or history at any time from the ancient past to the present day.

Subjects have always been unrestricted and cover the full spectrum of writing. Since its inception in 1996, the Prize has been awarded to books on archaeology, architecture, art, classics, history, literary criticism, religion, social studies, as well as fiction. Although the Prize’s will always seek to recognise works of excellence, any winner must be able to educate or enthral a broad readership.

The Prize is worth £10,000.

Over one hundred books are usually received each year from around the globe and every effort is made to ensure that they form the sum of all books published in English on a Greek theme. It is customary that the winner is translated into Greek and published in Greece, completing the Anglo-Hellenic cultural exchange which the Prize was founded to foster.


Submission requirements

The only submission requirement is that two (2) copies of each book reach us at:
The London Hellenic Prize
The Hellenic Centre, 16-18 Paddington Street, London W1U 5AS, United Kingdom

There is no cap on the number of eligible titles submitted.

The Prize has no fees or forms but, for the sake of uniform publicity, all publishers are strongly encouraged to e-mail:
– a high-resolution image of the front cover of each book submitted
– a link to the book(s) on your website

This process also helps to confirm the eligibility of submissions and to guarantee that allowances can be made for consignments delayed by adverse weather, etc.

The deadline for receipt of submissions is Friday 16 March 2018.