The 2018 London Hellenic Prize received 182 eligible submissions from 44 publishers and authors worldwide.

The Adjudicating Committee, chaired by author Elizabeth Speller and assisted by

two additional readers, formulated a Long List which included, in addition to the titles shortlisted later, the following books:

  • Pat Barker, The Silence of the Girls
  • Johnston, S.I., The Story of Myth
  • Paul Kosmin, Time and its Adversaries in the Seleucid Empire
  • Majerus & Weaver, Gardens of Corfu
  • Madeleine Miller, Circe
  • Francesca Schironi, The Best of the Grammarians: Aristarchus of Samothrace on the Ilad
  • Spiers/ Potts/ Cole, Beyond the Nile, Egypt and the Classical World
  • Stuthard, The Rise and Fall of Alcibiades
  • C. Vout, Classical Art: a Life History from Antiquity to the Present
  • Konstantina Zanou, Transitional Patriotism in the Mediterranean 1800-1850
  • Sofka, Zinovieff, Putney
  • Zuckerberg, Not All Dead White Men: Classics and Misogyny in the  Digital Age

The Adiudicating Committee chose a Snort  Ust of five  books to  be considered  as finalists at

their meeting of June 12 in At hens :

  • Farge C., Garnier B., Jenkins I., Rodin and the Art of Ancient Greece ( British Museum/ Thames & Hudson)
  • Hall, Edith, Aristotle’s Wisdom: How ancient wisdom can change your life (Bodley Head)
  • Hughes, Michael, Country (John Murray)
  • King, Christopher, Lament for Epirus (W.W.Norton)
  • Plantzos, Dimitrios, The Art of Painting in Ancient Greece (Kapon Athens)

Michael Hughes’ novel ‘Country’ was chosen as the winner of the 2018 Prize.

The award ceremony will be held at The Theatre, Peterhouse, University of Cambridge on November 13th, 2019.