Past Winners

- 1997 Christian Habicht, Athens from Alexander to Antony (Harvard University Press)
- 1998 Sir Michael Llewellyn Smith, *Ionian Vision: Greece in Asia Minor 1919-1922* (Hurst & Co.) jointly with
 - Paul Cartledge, The Cambridge Illustrated History of Ancient Greece (Cambridge University Press)
- 1999 Edmund Keeley, *Inventing Paradise: The Greek Journey 1937-47* (Farrar Strauss & Giroux)
- 2000 Eleni Bastea, *The Creation of Modern Athens: Planning the Myth* (Cambridge University Press) jointly with
 - Gonda Van Steen, Venom in Verse: Aristophanes in Modern Greece (Princeton Uni. Press)
- 2001 John Gould, Myth, Ritual, Memory and Exchange: Essays in Greek Literature and Culture (OUP)
- 2002 Graham Speake, Mount Athos: Renewal in Paradise (Yale University Press)
- 2003 Susan Woodford, Images of Myths in Classical Antiquity (Cambridge University Press)
- 2004 Mark Mazower, Salonica, City of Ghosts: Christians, Muslims & Jews 1430-1950 (Harper/Knopf)
- 2005 Robert Parker, Polytheism and Society at Athens (Oxford University Press)
- 2006 Averil Cameron, The Byzantines (Blackwell)
- 2007 Peter Parsons, City of the Sharp-Nosed Fish: Greek Lives in Roman Egypt (Weidenfeld & Nicolson)
- 2008 Stephen Halliwell, Greek Laughter: A Study of Cultural Psychology from Homer to Early Christianity
- 2009 David Malouf, Ransom (Chatto & Windus)
- 2010 Zachary Mason, The Lost Books of the Odyssey (Jonathan Cape)
- 2011 Ann Wroe, Orpheus: The Song of Life (Jonathan Cape)



Ann Wroe addresses the audience assembled at the Athenaeum last November

and is awarded the 2011 Prize by Mrs Elizabeth Criticos-Fotinelli

The John D. Criticos Prize

established in 1996

www.criticosprize.org

to promote Anglo-Hellenic friendship and creative exchange



ANTIGO NICK

(SOPHOKLES)

(from 139 titles, 60 publishers, 3 continents)

is awarded to

Anne Carson

for

Antigonick

published by

Bloodaxe Books (UK)

New Directions (USA)

Administered by

The London Hellenic Society



Sponsored by

The Criticos-Fotinelli

Charitable Foundation

Friday, 29 November 2013, 7:00pm

The Garden Room, The Athenaeum, 107 Pall Mall, London SW1Y 5ER



The John D. Criticos Prize: An international prize without boundaries

This prestigious prize was originally conceived by the late John D. Criticos, a respected ship-owner and popular member of the London-Greek community since the 1950s. Inspired by the ideals of Hellenic culture and the best commercial and cultural traditions of British society, he committed himself to charitable causes and to the promotion of Anglo-Hellenic understanding in a number of significant ways, the most lingering of which is his eponymous Prize.

This Criticos Prize was established in 1996 and will now have been awarded fifteen times to authors of original works, written in (or translated into) English, published in the year of the Prize's focus and inspired by Greece or Greek exploits, culture or history at any time from the ancient past to the present day. Although the Prize is always directed towards recognizing works of excellence, any winner must be accessible to a broad readership. Areas of interest are not restricted and, since its inception, the Prize has been awarded to books on archaeology, architecture, art, classics, history, literary criticism, social studies, as well as to works of literature. The list of winners overleaf exemplifies this wide range of scholarship and creativity. It is customary that the winner is translated into Greek and published in Greece, completing the Anglo-Hellenic cultural exchange which the Prize was founded to foster.

Well over one hundred books are received each year from a similarly large number of publishers dotted around the globe and every effort is made to ensure that they form the sum of all books published in English on a Greek theme.

It falls to a Committee of novelists, poets, classicists, historians and social scientists with a commensurate breadth of skills to discern what is the very best in each vintage. The Committee's membership is flexible and reflects the subject matter of the book submitted each year.

John D. Criticos chose to entrust the administration of this Prize to the London Hellenic Society, a prestigious cultural society established in London in the 1960s by John A. Hadjipateras and other prominent members of the London Greek community, in which he himself played a leading part. After his death, his wife, Mrs. Elizabeth Criticos-Fotinelli, continued and enhanced his charitable projects, creating the Criticos-Fotinelli Foundation which serves as guardian and executor of John D. Criticos' significant endowments.

As the ship of European Union navigates turbulent waters, the unswerving course of John D. Criticos' cultural project continues to enhance the communication of ideas between peoples across borders and our understanding of the Hellenic heritage which, to varying degrees, rests in all of us.

We are very glad that you join us today to celebrate this achievement.

The Short List for 2012

Anne Carson, Antigonick (Bloodaxe Books and New Directions)
Artemis Cooper, Patrick Leigh Fermor: An Adventure (John Murray)
Edith Hall, Adventures With Iphigenia in Tauris (OUP)
Michelle Paver, Gods and Warriors (Puffin)
Elizabeth Prettejohn, The Modernity of Ancient Sculpture (I. B. Tauris)
Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya, The Watch (Hogarth)

The John D. Criticos Prize

Friday, 29 November 2013, 7:00pm

The Garden Room, The Athenaeum, 107 Pall Mall, London SW1Y 5ER

Welcome by G. C. Rodopoulos (President, The London Hellenic Society)

The 2012 Prize - Dr Caroline Vout (Chair of the Adjudicating Committee)

James Macdonald (freelance theatre director) will introduce the winner

ANNE CARSON

who will speak about her work, to precede

A performance of *Antigonick* by Anne Carson and friends (directed by P. A. Skantze)

The Criticos Prize is presented by Mrs Elizabeth Criticos-Fotinelli

Concluding remarks by Michael Moschos (Co-ordinator for the Prize)

Reception with wine and canapes

The Adjudicating Committee for the 2012 Prize

Dr Caroline Vout (Christ's College, Cambridge) Chair - classicist and art historian

Aris Berlis – translator and literary critic

Dr. Felix Budelmann (Magdalen College, Oxford) – classicist

Tom Holland – historian and translator of Herodotus

Prof. Liz James (University of Sussex) - art historian and Byzantinist

Robin Lane Fox (New College, Oxford) – classicist, historian, gardener, FT columnist

Dr Nick Lowe (Royal Holloway, London) - classics and literature

Fani Papageorgiou – poet and reviewer

Prof. Stephanos Pesmazoglou (Panteion University, Athens) – co-ed. Contemporary Issues

Elizabeth Speller – poet and author

Dr Jennifer Wallace (Peterhouse, Cambridge) – literary critic and author

Co-ordinator for the Prize: Michael Moschos

Asst Co-ordinator: Jason Leech