Past Winners

- 1997 Christian Habicht, Athens from Alexander to Antony (Harvard)
- 1998 Sir Michael Llewellyn Smith, Ionian Vision: Greece in Asia Minor 1919-1922 (Hurst & Co.) jointly with
 - Paul Cartledge, The Cambridge Illustrated History of Ancient Greece (CUP)
- 1999 Edmund Keeley, Inventing Paradise: The Greek Journey 1937-47 (Farrar Strauss & Giroux)
- 2000 Eleni Bastea, The Creation of Modern Athens: Planning the Myth (CUP)
 - Gonda Van Steen, Venom in Verse: Aristophanes in Modern Greece (Princeton)
- **John Gould**, Myth, Ritual, Memory and Exchange: Essays in Greek Literature and Culture (OUP)
- 2002 Graham Speake, Mount Athos: Renewal in Paradise (Yale)
- 2003 Susan Woodford, Images of Myths in Classical Antiquity (CUP)
- 2004 Mark Mazower, Salonica, City of Ghosts: Christians, Muslims & Jews 1430-1950 (Harper/Knopf)
- Robert Parker, Polytheism and Society at Athens (OUP)
- 2006 Averil Cameron, The Byzantines (Blackwell)
- Peter Parsons, City of the Sharp-Nosed Fish: Greek Lives in Roman Egypt (Weidenfeld & Nicolson)
- 2008 Stephen Halliwell, Greek Laughter (CUP)
- David Malouf, Ransom (Chatto & Windus)
- 2010 Zachary Mason, The Lost Books of the Odyssey (Jonathan Cape)
- 2011 Ann Wroe, Orpheus: The Song of Life (Jonathan Cape)
- 2012 Anne Carson, Antigonick (Bloodaxe Books/ New Directions)
- 2013 Sir Peter Stothard, Alexandria: The Last Nights of Cleopatra (Granta Books)
- 2014 Armand Marie Leroi, The Lagoon: How Aristotle Invented Science (Bloomsbury)
- 2015 Jens M. Daehner and Kenneth Lapatin, Power and Pathos: Bronze Sculpture of the Hellenistic World (Getty/Strozzi/Giunti Editore)

From top to bottom, left to right: Elizabeth Criticos-Fotinelli (Long-standing former sponsor), Tryphon Kedros (Hon. Chairman, London Hellenic Society, sponsor) | Ann Wroe (2011 Winner) | Ian Blatchford (Director, Science Museum), Prof. Armand Marie Leroi (2014 Winner) | Prof. Paul Cartledge (1998 Winner), Dr J. Lesley Fitton (Keeper, British Museum) Colm Tóibín (novelist), Elizabeth Speller (former Ctte Chair), Michael Moschos (Vice-President, LHS) | Sir Peter Stothard (Editor, Times Literary Supplement, Winner 2013), Prof. Robin Osborne (former Ctte Chair) | Marina Warner (author), Zachary Mason (2010 Winner) | Anne Carson (2012 Winner), Neil Astley (Editor, Bloodaxe Books) | Dr Jens M. Daehner (2015 Winner), James Cuno (President and CEO, J. Paul Getty Trust), Dr Kenneth Lapatin (2015 Winner) | Elizabeth Criticos-Fotinelli, Prof. Stephen Halliwell (2008 Winner) | John D. Criticos (founding sponsor) | Elizabeth Criticos-Fotinelli, David Malouf (2009 Winner) | William St. Clair, Dr Nick Lowe (Ctte), Dr Susan Woodford (2003 Winner)

The 2016 London Hellenic Prize in its twentieth consecutive year awarded to Karen Van Dyck Kimon A. Doukas Professor of Modern Greek Language and Literature Columbia University in the City of New York Austerity Measures: The New Greek Poetry published by Penguin Books





The British Residence





Peter and Kara Georgiopoulos, GENER8 Inc.

Tryphon Kedros, Alexandros Kedros, Southern Shipping & Finance Co. Ltd Keith Allen, St. James's Place Wealth Management Michael and Atalanti Moquette

John Souglides, in memory of Chryssanthy Hadjipateras-Souglides



Administered since 1996 by The London Hellenic Society







The London Hellenic Prize

It was exactly twenty years ago that John A. Hadjipateras OBE and John D. Criticos, prominent members of London's Greek shipping community, conceived of this international award. Inspired by the ideals of Hellenic culture and guided by the best commercial and cultural traditions of British society, both men were committed to the promotion of Anglo-Hellenic cultural exchange in a number of significant ways. John D. Criticos, specifically, devoted himself to long-lasting charitable projects in both countries, which his wife, Mrs Elizabeth Criticos-Fotinelli, continued and enhanced after his death.

The Prize usually receives over 100 submissions each year from numerous publishers and individual authors across the globe, from California to London, Athens, and as far afield as Sydney. Areas of interest are not restricted and, since its inception, the Prize has been awarded to books on archaeology, architecture, art, classics, history, literary criticism, social studies, as well as to numerous works of fiction in recent years. The list of winners overleaf shows the originality and wide range of scholarship and subject matter recognised over the years by the Adjudicating Committee. This is a truly international award in scope and substance.

The Adjudicating Committee draws its strength from authors, artists, historians and scholars with specialist knowledge of all the fields for which there are eligible candidates. It is re-formed each year and outside readers are co-opted to assist in the best assessment possible of all books submitted. Thanks to the generosity of our current sponsors, the bursary of the Prize remains $f_110,000$.

The Prize has always been administered by the London Hellenic Society, established in the 1960s on the foundations of the long and distinguished Hellenic presence in England. London has always been a nexus of commercial, political and cultural exchange. It was the collective efforts of individuals like Bloomsbury-based shipping executive Dimitris Vikelas, Highgate-based Domini Crosfield, and Eleftherios Venizelos and his wife, Helena Schilizzi, which helped grow the most philhellenic spirit in England in modern times. It is this proud tradition which the London Hellenic Society strives to strengthen.

Adjudicating Committee for the 2016 Prize

Dr Jennifer Wallace (Peterhouse, Cambridge) – Chair, author and literary critic

Dr Felix Budelmann (Magdalen College, Oxford) – classicist

Robin Lane Fox (New College, Oxford) – classicist, historian, gardener, FT columnist

Dr Nick Lowe (Royal Holloway, London) – classics and literature

Prof. Stephanos Pesmazoglou (Panteion University, Athens) – political theory and public policy

Elizabeth Speller – poet and author

Readers

Prof. Liz James (University of Sussex) – art historian and Byzantinist **Fani Papageorgiou** – poet and critic

The Prize is co-ordinated by Michael Moschos, assisted by Jason Leech

The London Hellenic Prize, The Hellenic Centre, 16-18 Paddington Street, London W1U 5AS www.LondonHellenicPrize.org

The London Hellenic Prize

Friday, 10 November 2017 at 18:30

The British Residence, Athens

George Rodopoulos (President, The London Hellenic Society)
Welcome

Robin Lane Fox

Twenty years of the London Hellenic Prize

Dr Jennifer Wallace (Chair of the Adjudicating Committee)
The 2016 Prize

Donald Futers (Editor, Penguin)
Introduction

Karen Van Dyck

The anthology and translation

Excerpts from *Austerity Measures* read in Greek and English by the poets and their translators

HE The British Ambassador Ms Kate Smith CMG awards the 2016 London Hellenic Prize

Michael Moschos (Vice President, The London Hellenic Society)

Concluding remarks

Also short-listed for the 2016 London Hellenic Prize

Paul Cartledge, Democracy: A Life (Oxford University Press)

Peter McDonald, *The Homeric Hymns* (Fyfield Books)

Thanassis Valtinos, trans. Jane Assimakopoulos, Orthokostá (Yale University Press)

Tim Whitmarsh, Battling the Gods: Atheism in the Ancient World (Faber & Faber)